Master Post: Harassment in the Geek Blogosphere

The ongoing harassment of Anita Sarkeesian is getting lots of press and pushback, and that’s wonderful. It was the misogynistic response to her Tropes vs Women In Video Games Kickstarter video, that pushed me to host a carnival on harassment.

I was of course hoping for more entries, but I understand why many regular contributors and friends bowed out. In a short but powerful essay, Anon said,

I could take a stand and speak up. I could put myself out there and stand against harassment with my head held high. I could, but I’m not going to. This opinion piece is being published anonymously because as much as I feel it is unjust for me to fear harassment, that fear is very real and I don’t want to deal with trolls.

Like many women, I know  how Anon feels. There was a time in my life when I could not afford to blog under my name, because harassment would have been a sure thing. These days, I don’t have to worry about the trolls in my personal life. Now it’s just the threat of garden variety internet trolls. But I get you, Anon. I’ve backed off, disengaged, and closed too many tabs. We see harassment campaigns like the one aimed at Anita and we want to stand up for her–and for ourselves–but neither do we want to be in her shoes.

Please take a minute to read, comment on, and link to the contributions to this round of the carnival.

As always, big thanks to our contributors, readers, and of course everyone who linked to the carnival and individual posts.

One response to “Master Post: Harassment in the Geek Blogosphere

  1. Even the few posts contributed sum up many of my feelings so well, I doubt I would have added much to the discussion with my own post. I don’t blog anonymously, but I have a very small audience and have experienced little to no “trolling”. I consider myself lucky, but as Claire says in her comic, being under the radar also means fewer people read your thoughts on topics you care about.

Leave a Reply

